" "

custom class: header-utility-schools

Parish Episcopal School inducts members into Thomas David Patton Chapter of National English Honor Society

Parish Episcopal School students are honored for their literary achievements in the National English Honor Society.


28 Parish Episcopal School Upper School students formed the inaugural class of the Thomas David Patton Chapter of the National English Honor Society (NEHS) on March 20, 2019. NEHS, founded and sponsored by Sigma Tau Delta, is an international organization that honors high school students and faculty for their literary accomplishments. The namesake of the chapter is former Parish teacher Thomas “David” Patton. Patton started his teaching career in 1967 and moved to Lake Highlands High School in 1971. He assumed the English Department Chair position in 1975 and held that position for 33 years. 

“He left Lake Highlands to join the still new Parish Episcopal Upper School in 2004,” noted Liz Svadlenak, Upper School English. “David retired from Parish in 2013, but his influence on the mission and vision for the Parish Episcopal Upper School English Department still resonates with our faculty today.”

Members of the Thomas David Patton Chapter of the NEHS have proven they are capable of serious study of the English language and of pursuing the truth in works of literature and in their own creative expressions of poetry or prose.

“Being a member of this organization, and of the English community as a whole, encourages continuation of these efforts and preparation to take into the world the truths students have found, sharing with others their joy and appreciation of their studies,” added Svadlenak.

Congratulations to the inaugural members:

Raj Anthony ‘21

Ashley Awad ‘20

Chase Barclay ‘20

Lainey Brown ‘20

Ella Chapman ‘20

Rebecca Dorward ‘19

Emma Eades ‘19

Judah Foster ‘19

Ananya Ganeriwalla ‘20

Tyler Hamilton ‘19

Shivani Kulkarni ‘20

Sohum Kulkarni ‘20

Katie Lawson ‘20

Eumin Lee ‘21

Lawrence Lim ‘20

Grace London ‘21

Blaire Messmann ‘21

Emily Nielson ‘19

Isaiah Overton ‘21

Katie Palmer ‘21

Sahair Patel ‘20

Natalie Pham ‘21

Nusha Sattar ‘19

Alex Sheena ‘21

Abbey Swartzwelder ‘21

Muaz Wahid ‘19

Rafay Wahid ‘19

Blaire Wartell ‘20